As my first year on the Prospector as a Sports editor, I have learned a tremendous amount about journalism, working with a team and having others rely on your actions. Journalism to me gives me a connection to the world and a voice. The Prospector has allowed my voice to be heard by over 2,000 families including administrators of our school and district. With the reputation the Prospector has had for many years, it has welcomed me into its traditions and successful ways that allow it to continue to succeed. I really am honored to be on staff and write in the Prospect every issue. Good journalism to me is delivering the facts and and information correctly, yet creatively to the public in a way that makes them remember it. A big step in what we as an online and print newspaper have already got our feet wet in is the Aurasma usage of the paper that links it to videos. This way of telling a story has made me remember information delivered in this fashion. I hope to achieve in journalism the lessons of responsibility, traditions, consistency and the willingness to ask for help. Coming in as my first year on staff, it was not easy to ask for help especially for InDesign. As I’ve progressed this semester, I have learned a lot, and taken on even more responsibilities than I thought I’d have by this time of the year.

 

Leave a comment