Fave 5 Stories

  1. Road trip to the dog-pound http://prospectornow.com/?p=9646

This story will stand the test of time. I remember every moment from the making of this story. The minute my teacher, Mr. Block told me I was going to co-cover the ultimate rivalries of high school basketball I got excited. The story is a great display of findinHersey_basketball_game_2013g a unique angle in a game that occurs every year. We threw in the angle of tThe Underground as we even got some great emotional quotes from coaches and players about creating Hersey’s gym into a home-court atmosphere. Every part of writing this story was fun as Devin Prasad and I drew it up on a napkin in a Dairy Queen no 10 minutes after the interviews with the team. Also a very clever headline brings in the reader that much more. Having seen this photo I took with an iphone dozens of times on twitter and other social medias made me realize that people really did take interest.

 

  2. Hey! Hey! What a year it was! (Page 15, Issue 3, Volume 55) File_000 (1)https://docs.google.com/document/d/1TQxyerqJ0bYe4wkk-3SHBTeFHljdIzLYJFG7PXC0a-k/edit?usp=sharing

This story proved difficult for me to write. As a die-hard White Sox fan, imagine having to write about the Cub’s recent success and hopes, all the while remaining unbiased. This story I co-wrote with my partner, Devin Prasad, a die-hard Cubs fan, and managed to include all sources worthy of such a story: teacher Cub fan, student Cub fan and even a White Sox fan. the layout-spread is ultimately my favorite I have ever done and I take great pride in the development of this story having written the great majority of it.

 

3. Fremd’s size, finish prove too strong http://prospectornow.com/?p=9986Fremd_BBALL_MSL_championship_2013-14

Probably the biggest game I have ever covered. This MSL championship showdown didn’t have a second of down-time. Devin Prasad and I co-covered this game and yes, it took two reporters. With a fantastic lead, the story captivates interests early and really delivers the entire flow of the game. Also one of my favorite stories to be a part of even if Prospect did lose.

 

 

 

4. Wrestling makes state debut (Page 16) (http://issuu.com/prospectornow/docs/issue_7)

Not only did this story portray and show in detail how wrestling was able to achieve a mark on Prospect history, but it meant a lot to the kids I was writing about. Even coach Tom Whalen was very excited about the coverage his team was receiving. Knowing that my story was making a difference in someone’s life made this story that much more worth it. Getting the back page story two issues in a row also prompted me to include a clean layout that gave a senior in Andrew Wroblewski some credit in the art.

Screen Shot 2015-06-02 at 11.25.51 PM 4. Will honored in undefeated MSL East showdown (http://prospectornow.com/?p=12708)

One of the most exciting games I’ve covered that included a pregame story to tell along with another angle of a former coach of Prospect coaching against her former team. The interview may have been tough to do, but the reporting was fantastic. The game overall was exciting and I did’t even feel like reporting that game was a job, more of a task that I enjoyed doing. Including a box score in there along with a link to a video done by Peter Fusilero adds even more to the multimedia story that I am proud to have written.

 

Leave a comment